NEW — Melbourne Prize
for Music 2019


Supported by principal patron The Vera Moore Foundation and the Melbourne Prize Trust.

The NEW Melbourne Prize for Music 2019 will this year be awarded to an outstanding Victorian musician or group whose work demonstrates outstanding musicianship, skill and creativity. ALL MUSIC GENRES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THIS PRIZE.



Distinguished Musicians
Fellowship 2019


Supported by the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, University of Melbourne.

The Fellowship will provide the recipient with a commercial engagement with the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music (MCM) to the value of $20,000. ALL MUSIC GENRES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THIS FELLOWSHIP.


Development Award 2019


Consisting of $10,000 cash supported by Dr. Alastair Jackson AM + $6,000 rrp. Yamaha Music Australia grant + $2,500 Qantas airfare voucher.

The $10,000 plus the Qantas voucher are provided to assist with career development.

The Development Award 2019 will be awarded to
an early career musician or group of musicians who demonstrate outstanding musical talent and the potential to develop their professional career. ALL MUSIC GENRES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR THIS PRIZE.

Supported by Yamaha Music Australia Pty Ltd, the grant offers Yamaha gear, of the winner’s choice, to the value of $6,000 RRP. The grant provides the recipient with an opportunity to develop his or her music career and must be used within 12 months from the date of the announcement of the recipient.



Beleura Emerging
Composers Award 2019


Supported by The Tallis Foundation in memory of John Tallis (1911-1996).

The Beleura Award for Composition 2019 is for an emerging Victorian composer to commission work to develop their career. COMPOSERS IN ALL MUSIC GENRES OF CAN ENTER THE AWARD.

John Tallis, son of theatre entrepreneur Sir George and Lady Tallis, was a renowned composer and studied at London’s Royal College of Music and in Paris. His lifetime passion for providing opportunities for musicians and love of music is enshrined in this new Award for Victorian composers across all genres. Beleura was John’s house on the Mornington Peninsula, gifted by him to the people of Victoria, which is now a house museum.




Civic Choice Award 2019


Supported by Readings.

A public exhibition of finalists in the MelbournePrize for Music 2019, the Beleura Emerging Composers Award 2019, the Distinguished Musicians Fellowship 2019 and the Development Award 2019 will be held at Federation Square between 11 and 25 November 2019.

Voting for a finalist to win this Award will commence from the announcement of finalists in each categories on 4 September 2019. Voting closes at the end of the Federation Square exhibition on 25 November 2019.

Voting will only be online using the voting form, which will be available at from 4 September 2019 to the end of the exhibition on 25 November 2019.

The $3,000 Civic Choice Award 2019 will be awarded to the finalist with the highest numberof public votes.

Voters will go into the running to win a luxury overnight stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins—Melbourne’s Hotel for the Arts.

The announcement of the Civic Choice Award 2019 winner will be made on 29 November 2019 on this website and on the Prize’s Facebook page.


Past winners


Kutcha Edwards

Melbourne Prize for Music 2016
Distinguished Musicians
Fellowship 2016

Singer / Songwriter

Scott Tinkler

Outstanding Musician Award 2016


Kate Neal

Beleura Award for Composition 2016

Composer / Arranger / Teacher / Artistic director / Collaborator

Matthias Schack-Arnott

Development Award 2016

Performer / Composer / Improviser


Brett Dean

Melbourne Prize for Music 2013

Classical Composer / Conductor

Photo courtesy of Robert Piccoli

Stephen Magnusson

Outstanding Musician Award 2013


Photo courtesy of the artist

Kate Kelsey-Sugg

Development Award 2013

Pianist / Vocalist / Saxophonist / Composer

Photo courtesy of Hayley Van Handley


David Jones

Melbourne Prize for Music 2010

Drummer / Percussionist

Photo courtesy of Mandy Hall Media

Ben Northey

Outstanding Musician Award 2010


Photo courtesy of Ross Calia

Natalie Bartsch

Development Award 2010

Pianist / Composer

Photo courtesy of Hannah Dingli


Paul Grabowsky

Melbourne Prize for Music 2007

Pianist / Composer / Conductor

Genevieve Lacey

Outstanding Musician Award 2007

Recorder virtuoso

Photo courtesy of Monty Coles

Julian Langdon

Development Award 2007